addarrow-downarrow-leftarrow-rightarrow-up82CF3E98-D323-4B3E-9EDD-EF2E73FB5C9E@1xcancelcircularclockClose IcondowndownloademailIcons / Social / FacebookfilterhomeIcons / Social / InstagramleftIcons / Social / LinkedIn895A4639-EEE0-4BEB-B7D1-CAB21217861B@1xMenu Iconremoverightsearchtagtik-toktranslateIcons / Social / TwitterupIcons / Social / YouTube

The next UK General Election has been called for 4th July 2024!

View the Citizens UK Manifesto here.

Registered to vote but don't have photo ID? Apply for ID by 5pm Wednesday 26th June.

Institutions: Become a Voter Registration Champion.

This article is more than 5 years old

Meet the Shortlisted Nominees of Community Sponsorship Awards 2018

On 7th May we launched nominations for the Community Sponsorship Awards 2018. It was a delight to receive so many inspiring examples of sponsorship from across the UK. We want to extend our heartfelt thanks to all those who took time to nominate their heroines and heroes of Community Sponsorship of Refugees.

With over 150 nominations, our judges had a very a tough decision to make. We are thrilled to announce the shortlisted nominees.

Community Sponsorship Group of the Year

  • Croeso Arbeth - Narbeth, Wales
  • Pickwell Foundation - Georgeham, Devon
  • Raynes Park Community Church – Merton, London

Volunteer of the Year

  • Jeni McCaughey – Small World Whitehead, Northern Ireland
  • Khairunissa Dhala – The Welcome Committee, London
  • Lubna Akbar – Refugee Sponsorship Edinburgh, Scotland

Local Authority Supporter of Community Sponsorship

  • City of Edinburgh Council - Scotland
  • Pembrokeshire County Council - Wales
  • Simon Sandberg, Lambeth Council - London

New Community Sponsorship Group of the Year

  • Al Rayan Bank – Birmingham
  • Corsham Sponsors Refugees – Wiltshire
  • Herne Hill Welcomes Refugees - London

Newcomers of the Year

  • Al Amary Family - Georgeham, Devon
  • Ghassan Alnabulsi & Manali Altawba – Merton, London
  • The Batak Family - Narbeth, Wales

Sponsorship Champion of the Year

  • Migrants Organise
  • Steven Morris, Guardian journalist

Special Judges' Award Winners

  • Alison Bacon, Regional Strategic Migration Partnership (RSMP), North West Resettlement Lead
  • John Delahunty, Innisfree Housing Association

Youth Champions

  • Arun and Jasso Hamilton McMahon

Many congratulations to all those who were nominated for these awards. The winners will be announced at the ceremony on 2 nd October. The awards are organised by Sponsor Refugees in partnership with International Observatory of Human Rights (IOHR) , and supported by Global Refugee Sponsorship Initiative (GRSI) .

Posted on 29 Aug, 2018