addarrow-downarrow-leftarrow-rightarrow-up82CF3E98-D323-4B3E-9EDD-EF2E73FB5C9E@1xcancelcircularclockClose IcondowndownloademailIcons / Social / FacebookfilterhomeIcons / Social / InstagramleftIcons / Social / LinkedIn895A4639-EEE0-4BEB-B7D1-CAB21217861B@1xMenu Iconremoverightsearchtagtik-toktranslateIcons / Social / TwitterupIcons / Social / YouTube
This article is more than 4 years old

Meet the Shortlisted Nominees of Community Sponsorship Awards 2019

Our esteemed judges were hosted at the House of Commons by Helen Hayes MP, to decide the shortlist and winners of the Community Sponsorship Awards 2019 . They certainly had a difficult job to do, as we received hundreds of nominations from across the UK. Thanks to all who took the time to nominate your CS heroines and heroes.

Rossella Pagliuchi-Lor, head of UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency's UK office, said , "We had a very large number of excellent nominations. Very, very difficult job in deciding on winners. I think we had essentially just a very long list of winners".

Meet our Shortlisted Nominees

Volunteer of the Year

Alison Watt, Haddenham Syrian Family Project, Buckinghamshire

Erica Brooks, Refugee Sponsorship Edinburgh, Scotland

Sebit Nal, The Welcome Committee, London

Young Champion

Bea Forrester, Peckham Sponsors Refugees (London) & Rushholme Sponsors Refugees (Manchester)

Mouteb Ajaj, London

Pupils of Queen’s College, Taunton, Somerset

Local Authority of the Year

Bristol Council

Bury Council

Ceredigion Council, Wales

East Lindsay Council, Lincolnshire

Liverpool Council

New Community Sponsorship Group of the Year

Croeso Menai, North Wales

Green Lane Masjid, Birmingham

Merton Schools, London

Refugee ReSETTLEment Community Sponsorship Group, Yorkshire

Champion of the Year

Alaa Khattab, London

Eva Jonsson, London

Vicky Moller, Wales

Newcomer of the Year

Dalya, London

Hatem Al- Janabi , London

Samir Hamyeh, Manchester

Samer Khaled Karob, London

Community Sponsorship Group of the Year

Bude Refugee Support Group, Cornwall

Croeso Abergwaun, Fishguard, Wales

The Welcome Committee, London

Partnership of the Year (Celebrating alliances & community cohesion)

Abraham’s Tent Community Sponsorship Project, London

Croeso Roath Cathays,Wales

Old Swan Welcomes, Liverpool

(Each category is in alphabetical order)

Posted on 7 Aug, 2019